Pages

Thursday, July 9, 2009

Yummy!

So for those of you who don't know, I am a wine junkie. Not connoissuer, JUNKIE! AJ's, Bevmo, and Sportsmans are my three favorite places to shop for wine. Anyway, so I found this incredible Australian rose wine (perfect for summer!) at AJ's. Go get it, its only a $10 bottle right now. Enjoy!! :)


2 days

Only 2 more days until Mikey's 27th birthday! I am so excited, well kind of. He has been sick all week and finally went to the doctor today. Its one of three things; an ulcer, really bad case of indigestion, or an even bigger problem with his galbladder. I am hoping he feels better by tomorrow night. I have this whole fun weekend planned for us. Tomorrow night Mike, myself and a bunch of friends are going to Toby Keith's Bar...and the rest I cannot tell you since he reads this blog and its a surprise. I don't do much but I put a lot of thought into this weekend. Hope he likes!

I am almost done with my first week of statistics (for the second time @ ASU) and omg, this class is so much easier than the first time I took it. My instructor is young and everything is done on the computer!!! NO HAND CALCULATIONS! YAY! Infact, my quiz tomorrow is 5 multiple choice questions. Not joking.

There really isn't much going on right now and I kind of like it this way. Mike and I did however just finalized our Idaho plans for next month. This isn't just Idaho we are going to, its friggin Coeur D'Alene! One of the most beautiful places on the planet. His ridiculously rich uncle has a house there and my MIL rented a house for the entire month of August. I feel so vein and selfish when I say this, but it's nice to be married to money. You get to mooch off everyone! What else is family for? We are going to my uncles house in Maine this fall...it works both ways! My parents have done super well for themselves (Flagstaff, ATV's, and vacations are NOT cheap) but Mike's family? Whole other level. I am hoping when Mike officially becomes the CFO of his moms company (in a few weeks maybe?) we will be the ones owning houses everywhere, taking vacations, and driving our dream cars. Its a good motivator for me to get through these last 3 classes I have, and find a good graduate school. When you work hard, and get big rewards, its nice to toot your own horn every now and then. It's not necessarily about material things, its just nice to reward yourself when you have put a lot of effort into something. I am so proud of you Mikey, you have worked so hard the last year

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Still Struggling




4th of July weekend was grrrrreat! I spent 4 straight days with my husband, best friend, and her boyfriend.

Thursday night we went to Roosters for nickel beers. It was so busy and so packed that we actually ended up leaving early and going back to my parents house. Now when I say my parents house, I don't mean we went back and hung out with my parents. My mom and dad have a house in Flagstaff, and they live and work there during the week. They come back home to Mesa on the weekends. So its still their house, they are just never there! My 19 year old brother has this fabulous party house all to himself. Lucky Bastard!

So anyway, we went back to my parents house, drank my brothers friends beer, and then took a magical trip to Fili B's. It brought back so many memories for Ciji and I, it was fabulous.

Friday we went to Salty's to meet up with some friends and fam, had a few drinks and talked- a lot.

My mother in-law lives at the Scottsdale Waterfront. We spent the 4th at her house eating, drinking the best sangria, and watching fireworks from her rooftop pool. It was pretty money.

Sunday we all went golfing, and it actually wasn't too hot. We didn't play like it wasn't hot, but whatev. We had fun!




Rooftop @ The Waterfront


Drunk picture, taken from my cell of fireworks. I thought it turned out cool! :)



So now its back to reality = summer school, work, and lots of annoying things going on. I am still struggling with a lot of resentment I have towards Mikes family. Even though we are married, and almost 3 months into being married, people are still treating us like kids. I feel like we are constantly getting jipped because we don't have kids and are the youngest. For example, this coming weekend is Mikes birthday. His first birthday we are spending together as a married couple. I was so excited to finally be able to make all the plans, tell people whats going on, and be in charge of planning a wonderful day for him. I got to plan mostly everything, except make dinner reservations. Dinner at Flemmings was my idea. So when I get an email from my MIL that says "blah blah blah I'LL MAKE RESERVATIONS.." naturally, I was pissed. Lady, you have had plenty of time to be in charge of Mike's life. Now its my turn, move over.

Was the sentence in all caps really necessary? I know that she was a single mom, I GET THAT. I know that her and Mike have this special, unbreakable relationship, I GET THAT TOO. But when the hell do I get to step up to the plate and be number one? I sound like a whiny baby, but for fuck's sake! I have been dealing with this for over 5 years. I honestly thought things would change once we got married. I know I don't contribute all the time like I should. There is only so much I can do while going to school and working at the fucking piece of shit toy store 25 hours a week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AAHHHHHHHHHH! So I do my best; I clean, I sometimes cook, I try to come up with fun things, and fun trips for us to do, and I always, always, always have his back. I try my best dammit, and never in my life has that not been good enough, until now.

I just don't know what to do. I am so frustrated. It makes me resent his family, and more importantly, him. Am I making a big deal out of nothing? I don't feel like I am. I have had these feelings for years. If it were as easy as casting them aside, I figured I could do it by now.

BREATHE! I am hoping that this weekend will go by smoothly. I have to get through one dinner with her and thats it. See how horrible its gotten? I don't even want to celebrate my own husbands birthday with a certain side of someones family (lets be real, we all know who I am talking about, I am just trying to be a little nicer) This weekend is supposed to be happy and a celebration and I want nothing more than that for Mike. I feel like this is the calm before the storm, and things are about to get much worse. I said previously that I have never been the type to hold my toungue, and in this instance, I have. But you can only back a dog into a corner for so long before they lash out and bite.

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

So today was extra sad. I have noticed there is a lot of sadness in my life all of a sudden. My great Aunt Bonnie added me on facebook. I love her by the way, so creative! She had all these great pictures of my grandma, and when I saw them, I just started bawling. I cannot seem to get over this. UGHHHH.


This weekend is 4th of July weekend. I am so excited! Lets just say that alcohol WILL be involved. Lots of it. I am writing in my blog while I should be writing a paper. WHOOPS.


PS- Did you guys know that Michael Jackson died? (insert sarcasm here!!)





D