Pages

Monday, January 24, 2011

Causes

Somewhere I said I was going to start writing in my blog more. Let me be the first to say I am terrible at keeping promises. I am narcissistic and I always let my life get in the way. Oh well, deal.

I am all about causes. I think people who are Oprah rich (like Oprah!) should help the less fortunate. What else are they going to do with all that money? Wipe their ass with it? Although they very much could, and I probably would for shits n giggles (no pun intended) I think helping a "cause" is a much better way to get into heaven. I do not think St. Peter looks too highly on people that waste Benjamin's to wipe their butt. I am also all about causes that are near and dear to your heart. Now, I think its great to get involved, period. But I often wonder why people get involved with things/causes/charities/events they have no ties to? Let's be fucking real people. Like really real. I have this theory that there is no such thing as a selfless good deed. Yes, just like the Friends episode. People often say "I do it because it's the right thing to do." Um, bullshit! You do it because it makes you feel good about yourself. And there is nothing wrong with that. Why has society put such a stigma on people that feel good about the charity they do? I have a friend who did the 3-day cancer walk for breast cancer. To my knowledge, no one in her family has ever had breast cancer. I found that odd. And while we are on this topic, why not a Cancer walk? For all cancers? Breast cancer isn't the top cancer killer in women. How about lung cancer? Pancreatic cancer? Shame on you walk/run organizers. Don't discriminate!

Anyway, back to being really real. I was wasting time while trying to fall asleep tonight and decided to visit one of my favorite blogs. I won't give you the name because I don't want you wasting your time on their blog, I want you to stay here. So tough. There was something that caught my eye. It was a post about a children's hospital in Texas where kids design art and they sell it for you to buy. The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Children's Art Project is definitely something you need to check out. Here, cancer is not the focus, the art is. And its beautiful. What could be more beautiful than an child putting their thoughts, dreams, and visions to life? As a newbie mom, I have a soft spot for anything having to do with sick kids. Not to mention, everyone in my family has been taken because of some form of cancer. Double whamie.

So there, that's my cause for the time being. I also have a soft spot for animals. But I really don't feel like bawling my eyes out so I won't post any animal links.....today.


Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Not a good start

So 2010 was the year of hell as far as health goes. 2011 is not off to a great start either. Yesterday I went for a fantastic run, came home and did my jump rope workout. I was so proud of myself. I felt great. As I got done jump roping, I walked into my kitchen to get some water and SNAP! I stepped wrong and swear to god felt the worst pain ever. I looked down and it looked like a golf ball was attached to my ankle. I immediately started screaming and crying.

To make a long story short, we went to the ER because things were not calming down. My ankle isn't broken but another part of my foot may be. So my workouts will have to be put on hold. I am on crutches and have a walking boot that I have to wear for 6-8 weeks. I tore all my major ligaments and some tendons. I am in tons of pain but they gave me some good drugs. I follow up with an orthopedic surgeon soon. Too be continued....

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Well hello there beautiful

I just don't even know where to begin. It's been over a fucking year (Oh, I tend to have the mouth of the sailor. Ask the kids to leave the room) since I have posted anything. So so so much has changed! So whoever you bet that Mike and I wouldn't last, pay up. We are still together and more in love then ever. Cue the aw's. Since I last posted, the only real thing that has changed is that our son has arrived! He will be 8 months old tomorrow.

Wow. Really? 8 months? Jesus Christ time is flying. Remember when you were a kid and a week seemed like forever away? Getting older blows.

Anyway, Mike is in a great position to allow me to stay at home with Jack. His real name is Jackson but I call him Jack, you can too. At first, I wasn't loving it. There are no words worthy of describing to new parents what having a child is like. They are nothing but crying, hungry, poopy little takers! I thought for sure I was going to shoot myself those first few weeks. But we made it through. He is growing like crazy, crawling, and things are starting to get fun.

A new year is recently upon us and one of my New Year's resolutions was to be active every single day. Even if it's just walking up and down my stairs 2o times. I need to get off my butt and do something! I have made a conscious decision to start training for a 1/2 marathon. I know, I KNOW! I am bat shit crazy and you think I can't do it. Shit, I don't think I can do it. But I have a friend who just ran her first this morning. I am so inspired by the way she has really taken her life by the reigns and just goes out and does things. I want to be that person. I don't want to be the person who says I am going to do this, and then it falls by the wayside. Nope, that is not me, not anymore! So here I am, spilling my guts to you all because its time for some accountability. I have my shoes, my gear (except for a watch thingy that will tell me my distance and time. What are those called?) I am to start training tomorrow. I am hoping I can get Mike to do this with me. I need that companionship and accountability, and what better way to bond than to do something like this together? I'm excited. I'm scared. I still think I am bat shit crazy. I even went and got this amazing book called "The Non-Runner's Marathon Guide for Women." Even if you have no intention of running a marathon, go get it. It's a funny read while pinching off a loaf.

I am off now, to enjoy my last carb-filled meal at the ol' mother in laws house. Wish me luck!

"Rarely, you will find glory without struggle." Let's do this.