Pages

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Tuesday.

I had no idea what to title this blog post, so we'll just go with the day of the week.

Thing 1 (my new nickname for our son since I don't really want to use his real name. I've also come up with Boy Shaw) is doing great in his big boy bed. Its very comfy and a nice place to take naps too.

So last Friday, we had a little incident. Well, it was kind of major in my world. Not a lot happens when you are a stay at home mom so any event that is out of the ordinary, is big. Anyway, Thing 1 and I were watching cartoons on the couch when I heard this big thud. Now, in the man cave or family room, or living room (I don't know what the proper wording is for this room) we have two large windows, and two large glass doors that lead to the backyard. Once in a blue moon, a bird will think its water and run into the doors or windows. Figured it was that but got up to check anyway.

And what do I find? My Madeline (kitty #1) with a mouth FULL of feathers, trying to sneak her ass in through the doggy door. I freaked. I screamed. I kicked at her and shoved her back outside with my foot. Then I closed the doggy door and screamed some more. She had a huge Dove in her mouth. Then she dropped it and it was still alive! GAH! Motherf*cker!!!! &*^$%*!!! Bleep! Bleep! Bleep bleep bleep! Feathers everywhere!!

To make a really long, boring story short, I called my vet, who gave me a number, then that number gave me a number, and so on and so on until I had literally called about 10 people trying to find someone to take this fucking bird. Its not even a special kind of bird. There were about 3 more outside on the fence watching this all taking place. Last time I checked, there was no shortage of Doves in the lower 48.  I finally found a woman not too far from us who rescues (yes, rescues!) birds when things like this happen. The thing was still alive and had a broken wing, what was I supposed to do?? Yes, I know, I clearly have a heart of gold. But I wasn't about to break its neck (like some facebook friends suggested) or cook it (like other friends suggested) or let nature takes it course. Because then eventually, I'd have to pick up the bird I let die, and throw it away.

So Mike (who happened to be coming home for lunch that day) scooped the thing up in a box and Thing 1 and I took the bird to this lady's house. Just to give you a clue, she had a Pigeon sitting in a cage on her front porch. A real one. A rat of the sky she was trying to nurse back to health.

I was honestly planning on calling after the weekend to see how the bird was, and then I remembered I really don't care that much now that it is out of my hands and I physically don't have to look at it.

Heart. Of. Gold.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Happy Hump Day.

Does anyone actually know why they call it hump day? I heard an explanation once, but I totally forgot it so... Anyway, this week is flying by! I know most people are on spring break right now for one reason or another, and that sucks. I hope it slows down. I'm enjoying this wonderful Arizona weather.

So, something big happened in our house this weekend. My son, who will be 3 in May, finally made the switch from crib, to big boy bed! Insert mommy tears here. Now, I know you sanctimommies are thinking "you just now switched him over?" And the answer to that is a big, fat, FUCK YES.

It was working for us. If he wasn't super duper tall like his daddy, he'd still be in his crib. He's climbed out twice. Twice! That's it! For you non-parentals, a crib is a great way to keep a child contained. And if anyone has a child like mine, who does not listen, does not sit still, and has the attention span of a gnat, a crib is magical thing you never want to go away. When I needed a shower, I would just turn on his cartoons and plop his little booty in his crib. Boom! There's 10-15 minutes to myself for a nice hot shower.

I started to notice however, that when he was sleeping, he was always in these weird positions. It just looked uncomfortable. He was just too long for his little baby crib and it was time.

So we went and bought the first mattress we looked at. (WTF???) I know. But it was comfortable, I wasn't in the mood to deal with cheesy mattress salesman guy, and Jack hadn't napped that day. It was a little more expensive than I thought it would be, but this will easily last him 10+ years. Oh, did I mention its a full size bed he's in? We skipped the toddler bed completely. His crib was a conversion crib, and the toddler bed was no bigger than his crib. So full size it is!

Night 1 went great actually. Until about 4-5am, he started crying and would not go back to sleep (poor sick baby). So we brought him into our room and we was OUT until like 930. Bliss!

Night 2 was good. He made some weird sound pretty much all night (still sick) and I had no idea when he woke up. He didn't make a peep. What did wake me up was him climbing out the doggy door with my husbands golf clubs. I caught him halfway out. Phew!

This is night 3. So far, we have (and when I say we, I really mean my wonderful husband) has been trying to put him down for almost 2 hours now. I think its going to be a looooonnnnnnnnng night.








Sorry for the not so great pics, iphone. Nuff said. Anyway, we don't have his room figured out yet because a full size bed is HUGE! 


Oh! I totally went to Sephora and got the ingrown hair goop, so I'll report in a few days! I also had a kick ass workout tonight, be proud of me!

Monday, March 11, 2013

Let's talk about what no one wants to talk about.

Waxing. Dun dun dun!!

Okay, so maybe its one of the many things women don't like to talk about. I personally rank it right up there with talking about my weight, hemorrhoids, and old boyfriends. It hurts. Its a pain (literally!) to get to the salon when you have a million other things going on in your life. Its embarrassing to get your nakey ass up on table, in a bright room, in front of a perfect stranger, only to have them face deep in your vagina.

And then, in a matter of 15 minutes (longer if your waxer sucks) you are done, hair free, and feel like a million bucks. So naturally, 3 weeks later, we are back for more.

Now, I must confess, I've only been waxing for about 6 months. I did it once in high school and it hurt so bad I vowed never again. So for the majority of my post pubescent life I did my own woman-scaping. I have an esthetician I see regularly, but only for things like facials, brow waxing, and the occasional underarm wax. She's been doing my brows since I was a freshman. We have a relationship. We know each other. We share secrets in her room that I would never tell another living soul. How in the hell could I ever look her in the eye again if she waxed my bikini? I couldn't. So I never got it done.

Then one day last year, I was out shopping and running some errands. I came across a European Wax Center. They are pretty much everywhere. I've heard lovely things, but had yet to step foot in one. I don't know if it was curiosity that got the better of me, or courage, but before I realized what I was really doing, I was walking in..

It was clean. It was boutique style AKA cute!  The girls at the front were SO friendly. How could I leave this place without trying it? I needed to know what the hype was about. So I made an appointment. I'll spare you the details of my first experience but I can tell you it wasn't so bad, that I never went back. I've since become a package ordering, product coveting, member.

So back to the point of this post, because that was all rambling bull. I DO NOT consider myself an expert, but I pretty much get the jist of how waxing works now. But now I have a bigger problem, and this is even worse than overgrown pubic hair.

*Quick side note, if you are a mom, you automatically have a built in excuse for EVERYTHING in your life. Everything. If you have yet to master this, please contact me ASAP and I will school you in Excuses 101. *

Okay so anyway, my now bigger problem is ingrown hairs. Its so embarrassing. I. Just. Can't. You guys.....ingrown motherfucking hairs! Like what the actual fuck? What else do you want to throw at me mother nature? FUCK YOU! They are the awful ones that look kind of like zits, or if you want to get really graphic, scabs. GAH! So ladies, I need to know your best remedy for them. I've tried the serum EWC sells. Its lovely and I will continue to use it, but its not working.

My latest purchase has been the Bliss Ingrown Hair Eliminating Pads. I get them at Sephora for about $38. Not cheap. They seem to be helping, but not completely ridding me of my ahem, problem. I'm still torn on whether or not they are worth the investment. The instructions say to wait 24-48 hours after hair removal to use the pads. Bullshit. I used those bitches the minutes I got home over the weekend. It stung for a total of 10 seconds, but I think it was worth it. It seems to be helping better than when I would wait. So, the jury is still out. If you are interested, they look like this:

Photobucket

Another product that I am interested in trying (and will this week) is this, which has gotten some pretty rave reviews on the interwebz:

Photobucket

Has anyone tried it? Tweet me if you have. I'd love to know your experience!  I'd also love for you to share some stories with me about your waxing mishaps. Think the strips are better? Love EWC? Let me know. I'll be sure to report as soon as I can get my hands on some of this miracle worker they call Tend Skin.

So here ends my long ass post about the ridiculous hazards of waxing. Ladies, if you do wax and have the same problem I do, make sure your partner at least appreciates the trouble you go through to be hair free. You first tonight. Winky face!

Saturday, March 9, 2013

Ken's Fitness Journey

I thought of something I wanted needed to share! A friend of mine has started a journey. A weight loss journey. A life changing journey!  I love these types of stories and anytime I can get my hands on one, I feel compelled to share/tell someone I know/cry.

I won't do any spoiling, and yes, you are going to have to quit being lazy, and click the link to get the good deets, but I promise you, its worth it. It may even *gasp* motivate you too!


As I try to come up with some good/different/interesting/relevant topics, one that is always in the back of my mind, is fitness and weight loss. I know how hard it is to get into a routine. I know how awful it is to look in the mirror and cry. I know what it feels like to want to cancel your plans because you don't have anything to wear, or you feel fat. I want you all to know that this is a safe place where we can talk about how we need to lose the weight, how we feel so fucking tired we don't want to work out, and how, its Saturday!

You aren't alone peeps! Just know that.


Before this gets too sappy, here's an LOLcat:

Photobucket


So, its been awhile....again.

Hello everyone! Happy 2013!


I know, I know....I KNOW! It's been like 856298576 years since I have posted. You know the drill. So much to talk about, then BOOM! Notta.

Welp, its officially 2013 and we are all still here. That is pretty exciting. I will admit, I was one of those fearful people who thought maybe, just maybe, December 21, 2012 was it. We didn't prep or any weirdness like that, but I was super anxious that entire day.

I know its already the beginning of March, but a lot went down in 2012, so lets recap:

-Ali cat went missing. We found her 2 days later on the golf course. Super sad. And I still have her ashes, in an urn, in the bottom drawer of my nightstand. If that doesn't scream cat lady, I don't know what will.

-We got a new cat, Lily for my birthday. We had her for 8 months until she disappeared 2 days before Christmas. I know what you are thinking, that we suck as cat owners. But before you go and call the animal version of CPS, let me assure you, we take very good care of our pets and love them dearly. Our cats use our doggy door. Lily was sitting on our back porch when we left to do some last minute Christmas shopping. When we came home, she wasn't around, and we never found her. So IDK if a hoarder neighbor has her, or if she went to kitty heaven. Either way, it was really awful for me, and there are days I still grieve.

-All is well with the in-laws. We have kissed, and made up, and are in such a better place than we ever were! Yay us! Its so great to be able to see my son grow up with his cousins and develop friendships with them. He loves to go over to their house and play. Plus, I truly feel I've gained a sister in all of this and that is fantastic! Seeing as how I have just the one younger sib, and he's a boy, and I've always wanted a sister, its just peaches n cream.

-We traveled, A LOT! It was so fun. We went to Cabo, Idaho, Newport Beach, Disneyland, and of course our home away from home, Flagstaff just about every weekend we were physically in Arizona. It was super fun and I'm hoping 2013 is just as jam packed. I love being on the go, and I love to travel. We are so blessed to have families with money (lets be real here) so we can mooch and go stay with them in places with amazing weather.

2013 hasn't brought too many changes...yet. My dad turned 50. That was weird for me. And I think it was weird for him too. My parents have always, ALWAYS been the youngest parents out of any of my friends, teammates, classmates, etc. I always brag to people when I can about how young my parents are, I think its awesome! But 50. 50 is so.....not old, but its a definite milestone. The idea of getting older terrifies me. I picture life as a timeline and 50 just has this huge red flag next to it. Like, hey, you are 50 dad! Time to start thinking about wills, and life insurance. Don't get me wrong, I know he isn't going to croak tomorrow, but its scary, OKAY?! Geez.

We just adopted a new kitty a few days ago. I really feel like 3 is our magic number, for a few reasons. One, I hate one of our current cats but don't have the heart to do anything with her. She's mean, she pees in my laundry on the floor, and she's fat. Oh and she hates to be picked up. I love to pick up my cats! The other one is just an adorable ball of fur, who's gotten closer to me as time has gone on. Her name is Madeline. She's a doll, but still not the cuddly little fur-baby I was hoping for.

This new one though, whooo! Let me tell you. She's needy. VERY needy. And I like that. I'm needy. So I feel like the two of us together are two peas in a pod. She loves to cuddle. She loves to get right up in your face. She loves animals of all kinds, and she loves people. We weren't looking to add another, but every now and then I get on the AHS website and cruise the adoptables. When I saw her bio, I felt like it was written for us. It spoke to me. So we went and met her, she played with Jack's little red car he had with him and boom. It was over. I knew she was coming home with us. Plus we have the resources to save a life, why not? Good karma man, I'm telling ya.

I'll post a few pictures of new kitty soon. She can't sit still for more than 3 seconds so its hard to get a good one. But she''s a doll. I love her so much already. This one, is staying inside though.


Quick shameless plug, and then I'm out. If you or someone you know is looking to add to their family, please, I'm begging you, consider adoption or rescue. All of our animals are rescues and there is truly nothing like them. I'll leave some links below which are some great resources. There are always tons of animals looking for their forever homes!

Arizona Humane Society
Friends of Arizona Shelter Animals
Halo Animal Rescue