Husband and I celebrated our 4 year wedding anniversary, and 9 year anniversary of being together. For you brainiacs, we got married on our 5 year anniversary. *Cue the oohhs and awwws*
That was fun.
We had some strep throat run through the house which sucked. Thank goodness only child (my new name for our son) did not get it. Although another mom told me that little kids can't get it?
Anyway, I've been concentrating really hard this week on my eating and making better choices. I think its working. I'm down 5 pounds on the scale. I've had 2 really good workouts and tonight I hope to have my 3rd!
We are going to Disneyland next week for only child's 3rd birthday. This will be our 3rd Disneyland trip in his lifetime. We've also been to SeaWorld twice. He is so spoiled! But you know what? I don't care. We only get to be parents once. There are no do-overs. And even though the intent is probably selfish, as he won't really remember these memories, we will. Its going by so fast, and I want something to carry with me. So just because you can't afford to take your kids, don't hate. Kidding of course!!
One thing I did want to touch on is something that happened to me a few days ago. I have one child. I am well aware of that, and I am well aware that more children probably equals more effort. I vented a few days ago on my facebook that the 3's really are worse than the Terrible Two's. I was having a shit day. Kid wasn't listening, crying, screaming, hitting, and to top it off, I had a migraine. We are also dealing with some other issues but those are to remain private. Lets leave it at I was having a terrible fucking day! We aren't even officially into the 3's yet (next week!) and there has already been a huge momentum shift in our house.
I had a fellow mother, that I've known since high school but have never been close friends with, comment with this:
"My kids are 1, 3, 5....my 3yr old is by far the worst behaved but she's also the middle child which probably makes her act out more. It's just all kinds of stressful with 3 Kids tho....you just have 1 "
I immediately saw red. I am not stupid. In fact, I have a Bachelor of Science in my possession. But what I am not, is a one-upper. I recognize the need for a person to vent about their day, parent or not. Its human. Everyone has bad days. But as a stay at home mom, who doesn't have a lot of mommy friends at her disposal, facebook at that moment was my outlet. I don't know what I was looking for, but I sure as shit was not looking to hear how easy I, in fact, have it.
I'll keep this short because I honestly could go on and on about the type of person I think you are to make such a comment. If someone you know is having a bad day, be empathetic before anything else. Its what they teach my 2 year old at his preschool.
And in case you are wondering, I deleted that bitch. I don't need that in my life and neither do you.
