I'm a wife, stay at home mom, cat lady, sister, friend, sports nut, and everything in between.
Monday, December 14, 2009
Graduation at last!
I am 16 weeks into my pregnancy and still feeling really sick. But I have gotten some energy back, so thats good. Christmas is just around the corner and I have pretty much got all my shopping done. Now I just need to find a cute maternity holiday outfit, I have some parties to go to!
Monday, November 2, 2009
Well, things have changed slightly..
Monday, August 3, 2009
Wowwweeee!!
Thursday, July 9, 2009
Yummy!

2 days
I am almost done with my first week of statistics (for the second time @ ASU) and omg, this class is so much easier than the first time I took it. My instructor is young and everything is done on the computer!!! NO HAND CALCULATIONS! YAY! Infact, my quiz tomorrow is 5 multiple choice questions. Not joking.
There really isn't much going on right now and I kind of like it this way. Mike and I did however just finalized our Idaho plans for next month. This isn't just Idaho we are going to, its friggin Coeur D'Alene! One of the most beautiful places on the planet. His ridiculously rich uncle has a house there and my MIL rented a house for the entire month of August. I feel so vein and selfish when I say this, but it's nice to be married to money. You get to mooch off everyone! What else is family for? We are going to my uncles house in Maine this fall...it works both ways! My parents have done super well for themselves (Flagstaff, ATV's, and vacations are NOT cheap) but Mike's family? Whole other level. I am hoping when Mike officially becomes the CFO of his moms company (in a few weeks maybe?) we will be the ones owning houses everywhere, taking vacations, and driving our dream cars. Its a good motivator for me to get through these last 3 classes I have, and find a good graduate school. When you work hard, and get big rewards, its nice to toot your own horn every now and then. It's not necessarily about material things, its just nice to reward yourself when you have put a lot of effort into something. I am so proud of you Mikey, you have worked so hard the last year
Tuesday, July 7, 2009
Still Struggling
Thursday night we went to Roosters for nickel beers. It was so busy and so packed that we actually ended up leaving early and going back to my parents house. Now when I say my parents house, I don't mean we went back and hung out with my parents. My mom and dad have a house in Flagstaff, and they live and work there during the week. They come back home to Mesa on the weekends. So its still their house, they are just never there! My 19 year old brother has this fabulous party house all to himself. Lucky Bastard!
So anyway, we went back to my parents house, drank my brothers friends beer, and then took a magical trip to Fili B's. It brought back so many memories for Ciji and I, it was fabulous.
Friday we went to Salty's to meet up with some friends and fam, had a few drinks and talked- a lot.
My mother in-law lives at the Scottsdale Waterfront. We spent the 4th at her house eating, drinking the best sangria, and watching fireworks from her rooftop pool. It was pretty money.
Sunday we all went golfing, and it actually wasn't too hot. We didn't play like it wasn't hot, but whatev. We had fun!
Drunk picture, taken from my cell of fireworks. I thought it turned out cool! :)
So now its back to reality = summer school, work, and lots of annoying things going on. I am still struggling with a lot of resentment I have towards Mikes family. Even though we are married, and almost 3 months into being married, people are still treating us like kids. I feel like we are constantly getting jipped because we don't have kids and are the youngest. For example, this coming weekend is Mikes birthday. His first birthday we are spending together as a married couple. I was so excited to finally be able to make all the plans, tell people whats going on, and be in charge of planning a wonderful day for him. I got to plan mostly everything, except make dinner reservations. Dinner at Flemmings was my idea. So when I get an email from my MIL that says "blah blah blah I'LL MAKE RESERVATIONS.." naturally, I was pissed. Lady, you have had plenty of time to be in charge of Mike's life. Now its my turn, move over.
Was the sentence in all caps really necessary? I know that she was a single mom, I GET THAT. I know that her and Mike have this special, unbreakable relationship, I GET THAT TOO. But when the hell do I get to step up to the plate and be number one? I sound like a whiny baby, but for fuck's sake! I have been dealing with this for over 5 years. I honestly thought things would change once we got married. I know I don't contribute all the time like I should. There is only so much I can do while going to school and working at the fucking piece of shit toy store 25 hours a week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AAHHHHHHHHHH! So I do my best; I clean, I sometimes cook, I try to come up with fun things, and fun trips for us to do, and I always, always, always have his back. I try my best dammit, and never in my life has that not been good enough, until now.
I just don't know what to do. I am so frustrated. It makes me resent his family, and more importantly, him. Am I making a big deal out of nothing? I don't feel like I am. I have had these feelings for years. If it were as easy as casting them aside, I figured I could do it by now.
BREATHE! I am hoping that this weekend will go by smoothly. I have to get through one dinner with her and thats it. See how horrible its gotten? I don't even want to celebrate my own husbands birthday with a certain side of someones family (lets be real, we all know who I am talking about, I am just trying to be a little nicer) This weekend is supposed to be happy and a celebration and I want nothing more than that for Mike. I feel like this is the calm before the storm, and things are about to get much worse. I said previously that I have never been the type to hold my toungue, and in this instance, I have. But you can only back a dog into a corner for so long before they lash out and bite.
Wednesday, July 1, 2009
Tuesday, June 30, 2009
First, the sad stuff. Mike and I were driving home from the driving range last night and got into a little discussion about family, how everyone is so different, and thats its ok to not like certain people and not get along with certain people. We stopped at Sonic to get some drinks (they have the best summer drinks) and all of a sudden Mike wouldn't look at me. He sniffled and my heart sank. I knew he was crying. To make a long story short- Mike and his older brother have drifted apart over the last few years. They are 2 different people, who see the world much differently and are on 2 different pages in their lives. We talked about how they don't really get along, definitely don't agree on much, and how family get togethers seem like a chore. I was so heartbroken for him- me and my brother are about the same distance in age, but we are very close. Mike said "he just isn't the same to me anymore. He is a different person. I miss my big brother." UGHH. It was awful. I felt completely helpless. I explained to him that people change, and he understands that, but it still doesn't make this any easier. Things change when priorities change, and I am sure Mike and I will get there someday. He is just tired of being cast aside like he doesn't matter. He is tired of being the black sheep of his family, and wants to be looked at like the man he truly is. He has a house, a wife, a family of his own, a job, and a life of his own. People need to stop treating him like "little Mikey." Family get togethers should not automatically become babysitting jobs, and thats all they are to Mike and I anymore. No one ever asks how we are (it doesn't bother me because I just don't care enough) but I know it bothers Mike. No one seems to care about whats going on in his life, whats important to him...its all about the kids. THE DAMN KIDS! I say it like its their fault, and its not. Its the people who don't care about anyone but themselves and how cute their kids are and how cute it was that their kid took a shit today. WHOO-FUCKING-HOO! We don't care. We are at a place in our life where we don't even like kids and we don't want to be around kids. Hate us all you want, but at least we are honest. I don't like fake and I definitely do not like people who put on this display that their life is perfect. No one is perfect. I don't like people that have to be the center of attention, that have to be on top all the time, and that need other people's praises. It makes me sick. I don't even know where I am going with all of this. Bottom line- I feel for Mike. I feel terrible for him. I wish there was something I could do. The person I love most in this world is hurting and its not fair. He is such a good person and doesn't deserve to be treated like a second class citizen is his own family. He was the last to find out what the plan was for his own mothers 60'th birthday. That is a crime.
Good stuff- we are right in the middle of picking out paint colors for our house, planning a few vacations, and Mike's birthday is next week! I have something very special planned for him. I have an amazing family, great friends, and I am married to my best friend. Life is pretty good right now. Lets face it, it could be a lot worse. Ohh! Not that everyone wants to hear about our amazing sex life (I don't gloat like other people) but I just had the thought that after that huge rant about kids- it would be just our luck that we get pregnant soon. Don't be a fool and wrap your tool! If it does happen sooner than we want, then so be it. Thats life and you roll with the punches. However, we are still undecided on whether or not we want kids at all. Only the future will tell!! :)
GRRRRRRRRRR! Let me just say that I am so incredibly mad for Mike right now. He is too nice to get mad so I'll do it for him. I am not afraid to tell people how I feel and if it hurts their feelings then so be it, at least I am honest. That's all I have to keep telling myself.
Thursday, June 25, 2009
Weird day.
I obviously did not know Farrah, we have never met, and she was popular in my parents generation. I did happen to catch her cancer special, which was a very emotional hour of television. If you have not watched it, I suggest you do. Its inspiring, awful, sad, and enlightening all at the same time. Its like here is this person, this beautiful, good person, who has been handed their death sentence, and she still manages to find peace in her life. I am not as brave as her, or any cancer patient, and I probably never will be. I will (and I say will because I have this pessemistic theory that we all have cancer, we just don't know it) be the person who will always be asking "why me" and crying and whining about what I have to go through, how life isn't fair, and that I didn't deserve this.
On the day of her death, I couldn't help but think of Gram. It's almost been a year and I still cannot even think of her without crawling into a corner and bawling my eyes out. I'm heartbroken that she isn't here anymore. She didn't get to see the wedding she always told her doctors she was sticking around for. She didn't get to dance with my dad like she wanted. All I can think of are the things we didn't get to share together and the things I never told her. I feel so selfish. She was in so much pain and just wanted a break from it all, and all that meant was a phone call from me. I was so concerned with how I was dealing with her cancer and how much it hurt me, that I couldn't even pick up the phone to say hi. I should of called her everyday, and went to see her more...and I just didn't. My dad was right, now that she is gone, I have so many regrets. I feel so guilty, and I feel so ashamed of myself.
I wanted to post the euology that I gave at her funeral, but that is a little too personal to me. That is something that I want to save for myself and the loved ones that were there that day. Not just yet, but maybe someday. But Gram, if you are listening...
I am about to finally graduate college, just like I promised you. I still lock the door behind me every time I come into the house, and the wedding was beautiful and truly the happiest day of my life. I am sure you noticed when dad and myself were crying like babies during the father daughter dance. We were talking about you and how we wished you were there. And I know it was you who made the rain go away! So thanks. Thanks for my first puppy, for always being at my softball tournaments in 120 degree heat, and for always being supportive. Thank you for being you. There is no better grandma a kid could ask for. I miss you terribly and think of you all the time. I know the pain is gone and you are at peace.
Love,
Dani
Monday, June 15, 2009
Goodbye weekend
Monday, June 8, 2009
Case of the Mondays
Wednesday, June 3, 2009
Happy Hump Day
This week is going by so slow. There is nothing going on until tomorrow night. Me and my best friend and some other gals are having a girls night at this place called Roosters. Its been around for like 986568 years, my parents even went there when they were young. On Thursdays they have nickel beer night. You heard right, NICKEL BEER night. There isn't much out there that is as much fun as paying for some beers with a friggin dime.
Saturday, Mike and I are going to the ASU super regional baseball game. Some day drinkin, a baseball game with your best bud, it doesn't get much better.
I am going to Sephora after I get out of here, I need something more peppy in my wardrobe. I've decided on some new, fun colored nail polish. I have become quite the MAC girl- you get what you pay for! The girl that did our makeup for the wedding used it and turned me into a convert. Although I don't look like the girls you see on TheDirty.com So it's between this awesome green color and bright yellow. No, I haven't turned my back on pink quite yet, but thats what everyone is expecting. I am not predictable.
Tuesday, June 2, 2009
Pac-10 is KING!
When I am not an ASU fan, I am a big Pac-10 fan. Infact, there isn't another conference that I like. I especially HATE HATE HATE the SEC. I would rather root for UA than any team in the SEC. What I hate most about them is their fans. I have been glued to the Women's College World Series for the last week and everytime they make a good play, have a good hit, or beat a team, they start chanting "SEC SEC SEC."
I have never in my life heard any other team from other conferences do this. When we kick their ass in pretty much everything but football, they don't hear us chanting "Pac-10 Pac-10 Pac-10." Maybe we should. That being said, GO HUSKIES! Please bring home the 4th straight Championship for the Pac-10. The Pac-10 OWNS the Womens college world series.
Just a quick side note, for 3 straight years, the Championship has not left the state of Arizona. My heart always lies with the Devils!
My new obsession







